Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is something I just shared with a sweet friend of mine who is fighting to save her marriage. But I feel like everyone is fighting a battle and can relate to this. Even if the battle is within our own heads. So this is what I shared with her this morning, and what I am sharing with you all now…

I wanted to share something with you that has been on my heart last night and this morning.

In Philippians, Paul and Timothy are writing a letter to Christians in Philippi. Keep in mind that Paul is in jail during the time he wrote most of his letters. It is amazing to me that Paul was in jail and sounded in his letters so free. He was free in Christ. Free in his heart. Because he got it. He understood what he had in Christ. And it was enough.
In Philippians 4, Paul addresses How Christian’s Should Act. He teaches about how to live in all seasons of life. When things are good, and when we feel trapped by our situation. In verse 4, he says to choose joy. Joy is not found in our circumstances. It is a choice we make. In verse 5, let your gentleness be known to everyone. Be gentle with how to treat people and handle situations. Verse 5 also tells us the Lord is at hand. He is always near and working in our lives. Even when we cannot see or understand what he is doing. In verse 6, he says to not be anxious. (Easier said than done, right?!). Instead we are to pray and give it all to God. And the promise in verse 7 is that God’s peace will guard your heart and mind. That is a promise we can cling to! And finally in verse 8, Paul tells us to meditate on things that are good and worth of praise, true and honorable and right and pure and beautiful and respected. The thing that stands out to me there is to meditate on TRUTH. This is what helps me to not be anxious when I am overwhelmed with life. Whenever you are anxious or worrying about something that is out of your control or is in the future and there is nothing you can do about it now, think about this. Meditate on TRUTH. What do you know is true? I know God is in control. I know I am doing everything I can do right now. I know God will provide. I know I love my family and my family loves me. I know fighting for my marriage is always worth it. I know God loves my obedience in pursuing my husband. I know God wants me to keep my covenant with Him. It is true that I cannot make decisions for people. It is true that I can only control my own actions. It is true that things WILL work out according to God’s Will. There is nothing that will happen that will surprise God. He already knows “the rest of the story”.
PHilippians4-8
Meditate on God’s Truth. Look at the promises he has made and how he has fulfilled his promises time and time again. He is faithful. He will provide. He is in control.
PS- If you haven’t heard the song Praise You in This Storm by Casting Crowns, go check that out too. Music is life. This song gets me thru the extra tough days. 🙂
